photo: Instagram @andrewsmcmeel

photo taken by author

k.y. robinson

Copyright © K.Y. Robinson

​​​​​​​​​​about the book

The Chaos of Longing is a brutally honest exploration of desire—physical, emotional, and spiritual. This revised and expanded edition contains over 50 pages of all-new material.

Organized in four sections – Inception, Longing, Chaos, and Epiphany – K.Y. Robinson's debut poetry collection explores what it is to want in spite of trauma, shame, injustice, and mental illness. It is one survivor's powerful testimony, and a love letter "to those who lie awake burning." 


about the author

K.Y. Robinson is an introverted writer based in Houston, Texas. She began writing poetry and short stories in her pre-teens after secretly reading letters that her mother wrote to God tucked inside her bible. They taught her a great lesson on vulnerability. As a withdrawn child suffering from an undiagnosed mental illness, Robinson spent a lot of time alone. Writing naturally became her sanctuary.

With unapologetic candor and vivid imagery, Robinson draws inspiration from being a woman of color, trauma and mental illness survivor, and hopeless romantic. She believes in undressing every emotion until they’re naked and have no where else to turn to but pages.. She believes that poetry is the weapon and the healer.